Karl Amadeus Hartmann

Karl Amadeus Hartmann is one of the most important composers of the 20th century.

As the founder of “musica viva” – the most successful concert series for contemporary music, which still exists today – he is also a central figure for New Music in general.

The era of the “Roaring Twenties”, his studies of the “New Viennese School” as well as biographical aspects – the torturous phase of “inner emigration” during the time of National Socialism and the deep shock caused by the experience of war – have been incorporated into his highly emotional work.
Biography Catalog of Works Early warning
Karl Amadeus Hartmann during the years 1933 to 1945

Karl Amadeus Hartmann – Gesellschaft e. V.

The main task of this society is to promote the dissemination and understanding of the works of Karl Amadeus Hartmann and to be a forum for his work and his person.

At the same time, the Karl Amadeus Hartmann Society sees itself as a research and exhibition center. It aims to document and pass on Hartmann’s intellectual, artistic, social and socio-political legacy.

In addition, it is regarded as imperative to take up and continue the ideas and concepts of the founder of musica viva.
Further information

Archival Holdings

Further information on the life and works of Karl Amadeus Hartmann can be found in our archival holdings.
Archival Holdings

hartmann21 Series of events

With these four events in the Hartmann House, the aim is to fuel and develop the debate on the artistic and intellectual legacy of the exceptional composer Karl Amadeus Hartmann: with outstanding performers in “composed” programmes, consciously incorporating the other arts and sciences, setting interpretative standards and – in keeping with Hartmann’s intention – offering young composers a platform.

The triad is completed by a carte-blanche concept. As an interpreter at Hartmann’s piano, a capital composer personality allows his own works to enter into an exciting dialogue with those of Hartmann, creating a unique context of perception for the listener.