for large orchestra
für Robert Havemann, Berlin
auch Sie, lieber Freund, haben für die Freiheit gekämpft und mußten dafür leiden. 1944 [“for Robert Havemann, Berlin
You too, dear friend, have fought and suffered for freedom. 1944”]

1st and 5th movement used as a model for the Symphony No. 3 (1st movement), since 1990 as an independent work in its original version

I Adagio
II Andante pastorale
III Allegro assai
IV Non troppo lento
V Fugato

Performance duration: 25′

First performance: May 11, 1990, Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra (Conductor: Lorin Maazel)

  • Year
  • 1944/45
  • Archivalienkategorie
  • Werke