Symphony No. 6

for large orchestra
Diese Symphonie wurde im Auftrag vom Bayerischen Rundfunk für Herrn Prof. Eugen Jochum geschrieben. [“This symphony was commissioned by the Bayerischer Rundfunk for Prof. Eugen Jochum.”]

Originally symphony “L’Œuvre” (1937/38; also “Esquisses symphoniques”) based on the novel by Émile Zola – revision, reversal of the order of movements and new composition of the toccata (1951/53)

I Adagio
II Toccata variata

Performance duration: 27′

First performance: April 24, 1953, musica viva, Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks (Conductor: Eugen Jochum)

  • Year
  • 1951/53
  • Archivalienkategorie
  • Werke